Fraud Alert
Of course it was too good to be true, but the last time I bought a horse the Internet was only something hinted at on Star Trek. I had no idea Nigerians had horse lovers where they were most passionate (a good deal).
Almost 'Jacked'
Posted by Susan Pennell-Sebekos
Scam alert
Horse buyers beware, when it sounds too good to be true...
"Jack, black Friesian, $5,000 bucks."
What a deal, eh? Well, even though I'm not in the market for a new horse, after much cajoling from some my daughter and her friend, I decided to contact myhorses.ca and ask if we could go see Jack. Where's the harm? If he was great, I'm sure someone I know might be interested.
A day after I sent the message through the Web site, the email came in. I noticed right away that the name on the ad was different from the email name and they weren't in Toronto, but in Seattle (Okay, people go on trips). But these things didn't really bother me as they had all the information about Jack in the email. They asked how much I knew about horses and the breed. So I gave them a little bio. (I thought, "Wow, they really care about Jack!" insert head-shaking, tsk tsk icon here.)
The next email came in (fast) and I read it with disbelief and excitement.
Hello Susan thanks for the quick response
Well i will really love you to get this horse for your Daughter because i believe he will do well in your house .he behaves normally when being trailered cos he is used to that and also he has had the English and western saddles on..we have had him since he was a colt.his temperament is graded at 3 .Also he has been ridden for 5 years and a half and he is also brook to riding.We are presently in Seattle for our missionary crusade and due to our very tight work schedule,we will not have much time to care for the horse.so we decided to put him up for adoption to any caring home willing to take very good care of him.we are not actually selling him but searching for caring family that will assure us of taking good care of him like we have always done before.we are willing to arrange for him to be delivered to you today where you will pay just for thedelivery fee of $800 directly to the horse transportation Agency for him to be delivered to you.so if this is ok by you please get back to me with..
your full names
complete home address
contact number
i will need these to register the horse to be delivered to you .and we can start up arrangements for it to leave for your destination today
Lisa
Attached were some lovely pictures (see how pretty?). I read the email over a dozen times. Ya, bad grammar, sign of a scam for sure, but what if this was real? A 'free horse'! YAY! While excitedly discussing with my daughter I commented, "It seems too good to be true..." ding ding ding! Bells went off.
This had to be a scam.
I googled horse scams and suddenly
came up with dozens and dozens of hits. This horse was non-existent
and being 'sold' all over the world ~ New Zealand, the U.K., all
over the States ~ under different names, different reasons to
're-home' the horse, and with different sellers' names and
locations. Then I saw this blog alert (thanks to Paige Equinest for
being vigilant):
http://www.theequinest.com/friesian-in-texas/
The pictures
looked familiar. Yep, some matched the ones they sent me.
I decided to 'play' a bit with the scammers. I acted interested and told them I could send a trailer myself but needed to see 'Jack' first and to have my vet okay him.
This was their response (and last email to me):
that will not be possible because we are at our mission for the crusade and we are very tight up with the activities and also we are not allowed to see anyone even our family.
I contacted myhorses.ca and the RCMP. The RCMP got hold of me immediately and had me fill out a complaint form. Apparently, this is part of the Cameroon Pet Scam.
These criminals are based in Cameroon, Africa, and target animal lovers usually listing expensive breeds for low prices to attract interested victims. Then they tell some tall tale (tail?) about how they can no longer care for a dog, cat, or horse and they want them to go to a loving home. You just pay the transportation company directly. And yes, the company must have pre-payment sent to Africa, of course.
Moral to this story is to be very careful with every ad you read or place (they like to contact those who have genuine ads online, too).
Please also take a look at this link that gives some background on several scams being perpetrated on horse lovers: http://www.equine.com/scam-alert.aspx
If you cannot see the animal in person, DO NOT
part with a dime.
Oh, and just for fun? This is their email
signature line:
"he
who gives more receives more, generosity is not a crime but a gift."






Thanks for posting this. I got caught in the reverse hook. I had a horse for sale and they were going to send me more money than the horse was worth as long as i gave the extra back. rrriiiigghhttt.
Yep, only $1500 to pay for the shipping to adopt two pure-bred Friesians! Hah, I almost got caught in that scam. :P But thanks to your artical, I came from the dream world & back to my senses.

I had contacted this ad: http://www.horsetopia.com/for-sale/classifieds/ad445892 in hopes to finally get a horse. You know, I was expecting $10,000 for a Friesian, but was contacting out of curiousity. It was too good to be true, & by the time 'she' finally sent me the pictures of two 'mares', I thought I had seen them before... Yes, after googling, I seen a lot familiar, especially one you had up (except one 'she' sent had a red halter instead of white). Then I took a closer look at the two 'mares' 'she' sent, & noticed one was a stallion. I continued to play along & wanted to know the price. Yep, dirt cheap. Only had to pay $1500 for the shipping. : ) I laughed, but was a bit disappointed. When I first sent the inquiry on the horses, I had already started picturing two beautiful Friesians in my back yard lol.
Again, thanks for having your artical up! It sure gave me concrete evidence that this was a fake. I have reported the user & Horsetopia is looking into it now. I just wish some harsher sentence was laid upon these frauds other than one account being banned from the website.
Thanks!
Nichole.